General Information

Glossary: B
First Air Date: March 4th, 2013
Last Air Date: April 17th, 2017
Created By: Chris Chibnall
Star Casts: David Tennant, Olivia Colman, Julie Hesmondhalgh, Mark Bazeley, Lenny Henry, Charlie Higson, Sebastian Armesto, Chris Mason, Georgina Campbell, Hannah Millward, Sarah Parish, Jodie Whittaker, Andrew Buchan, Charlotte Beaumont, Hannah Rae, Arthur Darvill, Adam Wilson, Carolyn Pickles, Charlotte Rampling, David Bradley
Aired On: ITV1
Episode Runtime: minutes
Total Seasons: 3 Seasons
Total Episodes: 24 Episodes
Type: Scripted
Status: Ended
Homepage: ITV1 - Broadchurch

Last Updated: Sat, 27 Apr 2024 10:32:51 +0000

Sponsored Links


User Rating:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, avg: 4.67/5)

Backdrops Gallery (20 Images)


The murder of a young boy in a small coastal town brings a media frenzy, which threatens to tear the community apart.

Seasons and Episodes

Specials (8 Episodes)

1: Interview 1 of 6: David Tennant and Olivia Colman - Aired: 2013-02-24

Here, stars David Tennant and Olivia Colman talk exclusively to ITV Drama about what this gripping eight-part drama entails.

2: Interview 2 of 6: David Tennant on Chris Chibnall's script - Aired: 2013-02-28

David Tennant discusses Chris Chibnall's script, and what drew him to the part.

3: Interview 3 of 6: David Tennant & Olivia Colman - Aired: 2013-03-03

David Tennant & Olivia Colman give an exclusive overview of what you can expect from this gripping new drama.

4: Interview 4 of 6: Double-act David Tennant & Olivia Colman - Aired: 2013-03-14

Olivia Colman and David Tennant discuss the strange relationship of their characters.

5: Interview 5 of 6: Who killed Danny Latimer? - Aired: 2013-03-14

Olivia Colman and David Tennant discuss the on-set secrecy surrounding who killed Danny Latimer.

6: Interview 6 of 6: David Tennant on his character DI Hardy - Aired: 2013-03-22

David Tennant discusses the dark secrets of his character, DI Alec Hardy.

7: Extra Scene - Danny's Wake - Aired: 2013-04-22

Find out what happens to the residents of the town as they gather for Danny's wake. WARNING: contains spoilers if you have not watched season 1 episode 8.

8: Broadchurch - The Story So Far - Aired: 2017-02-16

A recap of Series 1 and Series 2, released on YouTube before the start of the third and final series. Contains spoilers.

Series 1 (8 Episodes)

1: Episode 1 - Aired: 2013-03-04

Out-of-town DI Alec Hardy investigates the death of an 11-year-old boy in a seaside community, aided by local girl DS Ellie Miller,The child's parent and other residents of Broadchurch try to cope with the media frenzy surrounding the case.

2: Episode 2 - Aired: 2013-03-11

The mystery around Danny's death deepens, The Latimer family struggles to cope with their grief, and the Rev Paul Coates decides to speak to the local media.

3: Episode 3 - Aired: 2013-03-18

Crime scene fingerprints lead DI Hardy and DS Miller to a shocking suspect in Danny's murder. Steve Connelly approaches Beth claiming to have a message from her dead son.

4: Episode 4 - Aired: 2013-03-25

A local journalist uncovers a new suspect. Beth and Mark try to get more national press coverage of their son's death. Hardy goes for dinner with Miller and her husband.

5: Episode 5 - Aired: 2013-04-01

Miller realises the evidence Jack handed over does not tally with her knowledge of Danny's possessions, Jack the newsagent's gets unfair press treatment.

6: Episode 6 - Aired: 2013-04-08

The case is stalling and morale is low. At the Broadchurch Echo, Maggie grows determined to solve a mystery that has taken a very personal turn for her.

7: Episode 7 - Aired: 2013-04-15

Following recent events, Miller is more isolated than ever before as she tries to find out what happened at the clifftop hut. Meanwhile, the police are circling Susan as Nige grows increasingly desperate for her to leave Broadchurch.

8: Episode 8 - Aired: 2013-04-22

The final piece of the jigsaw finally begins to fall into place. DI Hardy and DS Miller attempt to name Danny Latimer’s killer.

Series 2 (8 Episodes)

1: Episode 1 - Aired: 2015-01-05

Joe Miller's arraignment opens painful wounds for the community of Broadchurch. Detective Hardy is forced to confront ghosts from his past.

2: Episode 2 - Aired: 2015-01-12

The townspeople struggle to come to terms with recent events, and shock waves reverberate through Broadchurch. What will the impact be on the Latimers? Meanwhile, Paul continues his secret meetings and Hardy must face a figure from his past.

3: Episode 3 - Aired: 2015-01-19

Hardy faces a race against time as Ellie discovers a startling new piece of evidence, forcing them to reassess their suspicions. Meanwhile, with DS Miller coming under intense pressure from all sides, life for Mark and Beth is about to change for ever.

4: Episode 4 - Aired: 2015-01-26

Family tensions surface as Ellie struggles to control her sister Lucy, Mark Latimer has a decision to make and Alec Hardy has to face his demons.

5: Episode 5 - Aired: 2015-02-02

Miller's son wants to give evidence at his father's trial. Miller helps Alec with his old unsolved murder case.

6: Episode 6 - Aired: 2015-02-09

Ellie tries to wrest back control, and time is running out for Alec Hardy. Meanwhile, Beth Latimer has to face an emotional ordeal alone.

7: Episode 7 - Aired: 2015-02-16

The final arguments are made in Joe Miller's trial. Hardy and Ellie follow-up on new evidence. Another one of Claire's secrets comes to light.

8: Episode 8 - Aired: 2015-02-23

Decisions are made, truths are revealed and lives in Broadchurch are changed forever.

Series 3 (8 Episodes)

1: Episode 1 - Aired: 2017-02-27

DI Alec Hardy and DS Ellie Miller are called to investigate a serious sexual assault.

2: Episode 2 - Aired: 2017-03-06

Shockwaves reverberate through Broadchurch as news of the attack spreads.

3: Episode 3 - Aired: 2017-03-13

Hardy and Ellie appeal to Trish to be more open. The officers of Broadchurch CID start to uncover inconsistencies and lies.

4: Episode 4 - Aired: 2017-03-20

Trish returns to the scene of the crime in the hope it will prompt her to remember something more about the attack, while DC Katie Harford thinks she has a strong lead when she discovers a new suspect who doesn't have an alibi. Cath reveals interesting new information about the night of her party, while a match is made for the male DNA found on Trish. An unknown woman walks into the police station.

5: Episode 5 - Aired: 2017-03-27

The crime drama continues. New information forces Hardy and Ellie to re-evaluate the case.

6: Episode 6 - Aired: 2017-04-03

Ed comes under scrutiny, and Mark makes a decision.

7: Episode 7 - Aired: 2017-04-10

Important pieces of evidence come to light against all the key suspects in the case – Ellie and Hardy can feel the vice tightening and know that soon, the case will crack open...

8: Episode 8 - Aired: 2017-04-17

Hardy and Ellie uncover the truth behind the rape of Trish Winterman, and lives in Broadchurch are changed forever. Series Finale.