General Information

Glossary: A
First Air Date: April 5th, 2015
Last Air Date: June 21st, 2015
Created By: Roma Downey
Star Casts: Fraser Ayres, Andrew Gower, Farzana Dua Elahe, Pedro Lloyd Gardiner, Jóhannes Haukur Jóhannesson, Harry Taurasi, Richard Coyle, Greta Scacchi, Juan Pablo Di Pace, Adam Levy, Vincent Regan, Babou Ceesay, Chipo Chung, Emmett Scanlan, Alastair Mackenzie
Aired On: NBC
Episode Runtime: 43 minutes
Total Seasons: 1 Season
Total Episodes: 12 Episodes
Type: Miniseries
Status: Ended
Homepage: NBC - A.D. The Bible Continues

Last Updated: Wed, 03 Apr 2024 22:30:59 +0000

Sponsored Links


User Rating:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, avg: 5.00/5)

Backdrops Gallery (3 Images)

A.D. The Bible Continues

"A.D. The Bible Continues" picks up where the smash hit miniseries "The Bible" left off, continuing the greatest story ever told and exploring the exciting and inspiring events that followed the Crucifixion of Christ. The immediate aftermath of Christ's death had a massive impact on his disciples, his mother, Mary, and key political and religious leaders of the era, completely altering the entire world in an instant. Beginning at that fateful moment of the Crucifixion and the Resurrection, "A.D. The Bible Continues" will focus on the disciples who had to go forward and spread the teachings of Christ to a world dominated by political unrest, and the start of a whole new religion that would dramatically reshape the history of the world.

Seasons and Episodes

Season 1 (12 Episodes)

1: The Tomb is Open - Aired: 2015-04-05

High Priest Caiaphas and Governor Pilate crucify Jesus to restore order in Jerusalem. For Peter and the disciples it is their darkest hour.

2: The Body is Gone - Aired: 2015-04-12

Jesus' tomb is empty. Pilate and Caiaphas believe the disciples stole the body and search in vain to find it. The disciples flee to Galilee where Jesus gives them their mission.

3: The Spirit Arrives - Aired: 2015-04-19

Zealot revolutionaries try to assassinate Pilate during the festival of Pentecost. Empowered by the Holy Spirit, the disciples start to preach the Gospel. Caiaphas arrests Peter and John.

4: The Wrath - Aired: 2015-04-26

Pilate avenges the murder of a Roman soldier with mass crucifixions. Caiaphas fails to convict Peter and John. The church grows, attracting some with impure intentions who are punished by the Holy Spirit.

5: The First Martyr - Aired: 2015-05-03

Pilate closes in on the Zealot assassin and the disciples stand trial again. Stephen speaks out against the temple and pays the ultimate price.

6: The Persecution - Aired: 2015-05-10

Having failed to silence the disciples, Caiaphas is challenged for the position of High Priest. He authorizes Saul to begin a bitter campaign of persecution against Jesus' followers.

7: The Visit - Aired: 2015-05-17

Saul's persecution intensifies as he targets Peter. Many flee the city, spreading the Word as they go. With Jerusalem in chaos the Roman Emperor arrives to decide Pilate's fate.

8: The Road to Damascus - Aired: 2015-05-24

Saul hunts for Peter and has a life-altering vision on the road to Damascus. Also: Claudia's nightmares become a reality; Pilate's destiny turns for the worse

9: Saul's Return - Aired: 2015-05-31

Emperor Caligula demands that his statue be placed in the Temple. Pilate and Caiaphas know such desecration will cause rebellion. Saul returns a changed man

10: Brothers in Arms - Aired: 2015-06-07

Saul preaches in Jerusalem and Caiaphas is enraged. James the Just comes to help Peter tackle Caiaphas. The Zealots and Ethiopians plot against Rome.

11: Rise Up - Aired: 2015-06-14

James confronts Caiaphas and wins concessions for the disciples. The Zealot army grows but their Ethiopian backer turns to Jesus. When Peter resurrects Tabitha many more are drawn to His message.

12: The Abomination - Aired: 2015-06-21

Emperor Caligula's statue arrives and draws everyone to the battleground of the Temple.The disciples stand firm on Jesus message and Cornelius becomes the first Roman convert.