General Information

Glossary: W
First Air Date: June 23rd, 2011
Last Air Date: August 13th, 2014
Created By: Jason Gann, Adam Zwar
Star Casts: Elijah Wood, Jason Gann, Fiona Gubelmann, Dorian Brown Pham
Aired On: FX, FXX
Episode Runtime: 30 minutes
Total Seasons: 4 Seasons
Total Episodes: 49 Episodes
Type: Scripted
Status: Ended
Homepage: FX - Wilfred

Last Updated: Sat, 19 Jan 2019 09:54:08 +0000

Sponsored Links


User Rating:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Backdrops Gallery (17 Images)

Wilfred (US)

Everyone else sees Wilfred as just a dog, but Ryan sees a crude and somewhat surly, yet irrepressibly brave and honest Australian bloke in a cheap dog suit. While leading him through a series of comedic and existential adventures, Wilfred the dog shows Ryan the man how to overcome his fears and joyfully embrace the unpredictability and insanity of the world around him.

Seasons and Episodes

Specials (0 Episodes)

Season 1 (13 Episodes)

1: Happiness - Aired: 2011-06-23

Ryan forms a unique connection with his neighbor's dog after a failed suicide attempt.

2: Trust - Aired: 2011-06-30

Wilfred comes into Ryan's yard, so the two go to the beach, as Wilfred has always wanted to swim in the ocean. After Ryan lets him, the two bond more, and spend the day hanging out. When Ryan drops Wilfred off, Jenna asks Ryan to trick Wilfred into going to the dentist to get his teeth cleaned. Ryan reluctantly accepts, and tricks Wilfred by telling him they're going to the movies, and Wilfred is mad at Ryan. While under anesthesia, Wilfred reveals a horrifying secret about Jenna.

3: Fear - Aired: 2011-07-07

Ryan gets his wallet back (that's the good news) when his malevolent, porn-addicted neighbor Spencer (Ethan Suplee) shows up. The bad news: Spencer's looking for answers about who broke into his house. He's also looking for blood.

4: Acceptance - Aired: 2011-07-14

Ryan tries to reconcile with his sister (Dorian Brown), and Wilfred is in for a shock at doggy day care as a result.

5: Respect - Aired: 2011-07-21

Wilfred reveals an extraordinary ability when Ryan takes him to a hospice to volunteer.

6: Conscience - Aired: 2011-07-28

Wilfred persuades Ryan to help him get rid of Jenna’s boyfriend.

7: Pride - Aired: 2011-08-04

Ryan must swallow his pride when Wilfred pursues a new love interest., and Ryan meets a new romantic interest (Jane Kaczmarek) himself

8: Anger - Aired: 2011-08-11

Ryan has a guilt complex over the death of his childhood dog, and Wilfred, upon learning of it, goes to otherworldly lengths to help Ryan discover the truth about how the pooch passed on. Meanwhile, Kristen throws a party for her boss (Nestor Carbonell).

9: Compassion - Aired: 2011-08-18

Ryan's resentment of his mother even grows when she moves in and becomes friends with Wilfred.

10: Isolation - Aired: 2011-08-18

Wilfred tries to find Ryan a human friend.

11: Doubt - Aired: 2011-08-25

Ryan meets someone who questions Ryan's friendship to Wilfred.

12: Sacrifice - Aired: 2011-09-01

Just as Ryan finds happiness in his life, Wilfred begs him to sacrifice it for a larger purpose.

13: Identity - Aired: 2011-09-08

A crisis arises when Ryan ignores Wilfred's advice.

Season 2 (13 Episodes)

1: Progress - Aired: 2012-06-21

Ryan learns that life is much more challenging without Wilfred around.

2: Letting Go - Aired: 2012-06-28

When Wilfred comes to the conclusion Ryan is the only beneficiary of their friendship, he denies Ryan any further help.

3: Dignity - Aired: 2012-07-05

Ryan has to deal with new problems when Wilfred becomes popular.

4: Guilt - Aired: 2012-07-12

Ryan is forced to intervene when Wilfred becomes embattled with an unlikely foe.

5: Now - Aired: 2012-07-19

Unexpected problems arise for Ryan and Wilfred after a traumatic experience.

6: Control - Aired: 2012-07-26

Wilfred muddles Ryan's plan to introduce Amanda to Jenna.

7: Avoidance - Aired: 2012-08-02

A hairy situation puts Wilfred and Ryan's friendship in jeopardy.

8: Truth - Aired: 2012-08-09

Wilfred's nemesis returns with an offer that rocks Ryan's world.

9: Service - Aired: 2012-08-16

A spontaneous road trip proves disastrous for Wilfred and Ryan.

10: Honesty - Aired: 2012-08-23

Ryan and Wilfred make an extraordinary effort to boost Jenna's career.

11: Questions - Aired: 2012-08-30

Ryan attempts to discover the truth about Wilfred through self-examination.

12: Resentment - Aired: 2012-09-13

Wilfred derails Jenna and Drew's wedding because of Ryan's jealousy.

13: Secrets - Aired: 2012-09-20

In the second-season finale, existential questions are posed to Wilfred and Ryan.

Season 3 (13 Episodes)

1: Uncertainty - Aired: 2013-06-20

Ryan and Wilfred search for Wilfred’s original owner.

2: Comfort - Aired: 2013-06-20

Ryan befriends Wilfred’s enemy—the mailman.

3: Suspicion - Aired: 2013-06-27

Ryan distrusts his sister's new love interest.

4: Sincerity - Aired: 2013-06-27

Ryan takes Wilfred to a dog training class in the hopes of winning over a girl.

5: Shame - Aired: 2013-07-11

Ryan finds a roommate with Wilfred's help.

6: Delusion - Aired: 2013-07-18

Wilfred forces Ryan to collaborate on a birthday gift for Jenna.

7: Intuition - Aired: 2013-07-25

Wilfred leads Ryan on a crime-fighting caper.

8: Perspective - Aired: 2013-08-01

Ryan tries progressive psychotherapy to better understand a past trauma.

9: Confrontation - Aired: 2013-08-08

Wilfred crashes Christmas and pits Ryan against his family.

10: Distance - Aired: 2013-08-15

A struggle emerges between Ryan, Wilfred and an old friend.

11: Stagnation - Aired: 2013-08-22

Wilfred pursues a forbidden love.

12: Heroism - Aired: 2013-08-29

Ryan is put in danger as Wilfred pursues the path to valor.

13: Regrets - Aired: 2013-09-05

Season 3 ends with Jenna forbidding Ryan from seeing Wilfred when he needs him most.

Season 4 (10 Episodes)

1: Amends - Aired: 2014-06-25

When Ryan's reality is upended, he gets a second chance to make things right.

2: Consequences - Aired: 2014-06-25

Disaster strikes when Ryan and Wilfred get an unwanted guest on their camping trip.

3: Loyalty - Aired: 2014-07-02

Ryan and Wilfred take sides in Kristen's custody battle.

4: Answers - Aired: 2014-07-09

Ryan subjects Wilfred to a scientific study with unsettling results.

5: Forward - Aired: 2014-07-16

Ryan and Wilfred have drastically different accounts of the same disturbing incident.

6: Patterns - Aired: 2014-07-23

While trying to uncover who his father was paying off, Ryan runs into Bruce, only to be a pawn in his next game.

7: Responsibility - Aired: 2014-07-30

Ryan helps his mother adjust to her new life as Wilfred deals with a new nemesis.

8: Courage - Aired: 2014-08-06

Wilfred convinces Ryan to withhold sensitive information from Jenna.

9: Resistance - Aired: 2014-08-13

Ryan fears a future without Wilfred, as his battle with cancer becomes more severe. Drew returns from Wisconsin.

10: Serenity - Aired: 2014-08-13

Ryan finally learns his truths about Wilfred and his life.