General Information

Glossary: T
First Air Date: January 7th, 2018
Last Air Date: July 26th, 2020
Created By: Lena Waithe
Star Casts: Jason Mitchell, Alex Hibbert, Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine, Jacob Latimore, Yolanda Ross, Tiffany Boone, Armando Riesco, Barton Fitzpatrick
Aired On: Showtime
Episode Runtime: 55 minutes
Total Seasons: 3 Seasons
Total Episodes: 26 Episodes
Type: Scripted
Status: Returning Series
Homepage: Showtime - The Chi

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Aug 2020 10:30:10 +0000

Sponsored Links


User Rating:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Backdrops Gallery (8 Images)

The Chi

A relevant, timely and distinctive coming-of-age story following a half dozen interrelated characters in the South Side of Chicago. The story centers on Brandon, an ambitious and confident young man who dreams about opening a restaurant of his own someday, but is conflicted between the promise of a new life and his responsibility to his mother and teenage brother back in the South Side.

Seasons and Episodes

Season 1 (10 Episodes)

1: Pilot - Aired: 2018-01-07

A fateful event sends shockwaves through a community on the South Side of Chicago and connects the lives of Brandon, Ronnie, Emmett and Kevin in wholly unexpected ways.

2: Alee - Aired: 2018-01-14

Brandon reels from a loss as Ronnie realizes he’s made a grave mistake. Meanwhile, Emmett’s carefree life is upended. Best friends Papa and Jake taunt Kevin over his school crush Andrea. Detective Cruz is shaken by conflicting clues in the investigation.

3: Ghosts - Aired: 2018-01-21

Brandon asks Kevin for help. Laverne and Greavy make a life-changing decision. Meanwhile, Amir looks to capitalize on Emmett's side gig while Quentin returns to town to launch his own investigation.

4: Quaking Grass - Aired: 2018-01-28

Brandon seeks refuge after Jerrika kicks him out. A physically and mentally ailing Ronnie runs into Rafiq. Meanwhile, Quentin takes a valued item from Trice while Kevin's quest ends with Brandon making a bad deal with Reg.

5: Today was a Good Day - Aired: 2018-02-11

A neighborhood block party brings Brandon, Ronnie, Emmett and Kevin together. Brandon has a confrontation with Ronnie and gets surprised by Jerrika.

6: Penetrate a Fraud - Aired: 2018-02-18

Brandon’s actions jeopardize his relationship with Jerrika. Ronnie uncovers secrets about his surrogate son’s past and gives a crucial piece of information to the police. Meanwhile, Emmett’s shoe hustle goes awry.

7: The Whistle - Aired: 2018-02-25

Brandon compromises his employment by defending a co-worker. Emmett spends an eye-opening day with Quentin. At the roller rink, Kevin tries to get Andrea's attention.

8: Wallets - Aired: 2018-03-04

Brandon branches out on his own, while Emmett searches for his son after Tiffany takes him away. Ronnie seeks redemption at a mosque where he meets Rafiq. Kevin tries to stop his best friend from going down a dark path.

9: Namaste Muthafucka - Aired: 2018-03-11

Brandon attempts a reconciliation with Jerrika, but struggles to establish his business. Kevin realizes he can't stop Jake. Emmett reels when Jada is offered a job in another state.

10: Ease On Down The Road - Aired: 2018-03-18

Ronnie faces his past crimes. Meanwhile, Brandon's plan to finance his business goes awry. Kevin stars in the school play and attends a cast party with his friends. Emmett decides to fight for full custody. Season finale.

Season 2 (10 Episodes)

1: Eruptions - Aired: 2019-04-07

Brandon deals with an unfortunate turn of events that takes him back to Reg. Jada makes a decision that forces Emmett to grow up. Kevin, Jake and Papa hatch a plan to do a project for school. Ronnie takes an inmate under his wing.

2: Every Day I'm Hustlin - Aired: 2019-04-14

Brandon begrudgingly puts on a front to help Jerrika land a new client. Reg must answer to the leadership of the 63rd St. Mob. Ronnie reels from devastating news and makes a deal with an inmate. Emmett adjusts to his new living situation and starts another side hustle with Amir. Kevin is forced to make a difficult decision. New Detective Toussaint investigates a South Side home invasion.

3: Past Due - Aired: 2019-04-21

Brandon gets a new opportunity. Kevin and Maisha form an unlikely friendship. Emmett takes on more responsibility at work. Cruz deals with blowback from Ronnie’s confession. Ronnie receives some shocking news. Toussaint gets a lead on her case.

4: Showdown - Aired: 2019-04-28

Brandon stresses over The After Taste Food Competition and makes a deal with Emmett, while an accident at Sonny’s threatens Emmett’s job. Kevin, Jake and Papa cause mayhem on picture day at school. Ronnie adjusts to a new life he didn’t expect. Reg gets called on the carpet by Douda and a revelation comes to light.

5: Feeling the Heat - Aired: 2019-05-05

Brandon and Emmett come together for some Chicago summertime fun on one of the hottest days of the year. Kevin deals with a death in the family. Ronnie reconnects with Rafiq and gets some helpful advice. Toussaint and Cruz make a major move on the home invasion case. Reg and Douda form a plan to fix the gang’s problem.

6: A Leg Up - Aired: 2019-05-12

Brandon competes in the finals of The After Taste Food Competition. Emmett tries to smooth things over with the women in his life. Kevin and Jake get into a fight. Ronnie and Jada grow closer after a family secret comes to light.

7: A Blind Eye - Aired: 2019-05-26

Detective Cruz is left to make a difficult choice. Brandon gets some insight into Douda's past. Jerrika drops a bomb about her career. Emmett tries to figure out who Keisha is dating. Ronnie opens up to Jada, who helps him heal old wounds.

8: Lean Into It - Aired: 2019-06-02

Brandon takes a big step with Jerrika; a new opportunity forces Emmett's hand; Kevin makes a new friend and a fateful decision; Ronnie spirals out of control.

9: Guilt, Viral Videos, and Ass Whuppings - Aired: 2019-06-09

No overview available.

10: The Scorpion and the Frog - Aired: 2019-06-16

No overview available.

Season 3 (6 Episodes)

1: Foe 'Nem - Aired: 2020-06-21

A wedding alters Kevin and Kiesha's lives. Emmett juggles his business and his growing family. Ronnie struggles to find his way. Jake's estranged brother Trig lands back in town on a mission.

2: Brewfurd - Aired: 2020-06-28

Kevin rallies Papa and Jake for help. Emmett finds a short-term solution to his food shortage problem. Jada samples the dating scene and a local trap kitchen run by Dom. Trig devises a plan to get custody of his brother Jake from Douda.

3: Buss Down - Aired: 2020-07-05

The Williams family goes into a tailspin. Emmett and Tiff devise a plan to move in with Jada while he gets his new business off the ground. Ronnie gets a not-so-friendly reminder that his neighborhood has a long memory of his past deeds.

4: Gangway - Aired: 2020-07-12

No overview available.

5: Terror Town - Aired: 2020-07-19

No overview available.

6: Woo Woo Woo - Aired: 2020-07-26

No overview available.